Goathland- Just 13 miles away!

 

The village was the setting of the fictional village of Aidensfield in the Heartbeat television series set in the 1960s. Many landmarks from the series are recognisable, including the stores, garage/funeral directors, the public house and the railway station. The pub is called the Goathland Hotel. See here for a YouTube  video of Heartbeat Locations.

Flamingoland - https://www.flamingoland.co.uk/

Go Ape- https://goape.co.uk/

Lightwater Valley- https://www.lightwatervalley.co.uk/

Rosedale- https://www.yorkshire.com/places/north-york-moors/rosedale-abbey

Grosmont- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grosmont,_North_Yorkshire

Bike Hub- http://bikehubs.yorkshire.com/

Cleveland Way- https://www.nationaltrail.co.uk/cleveland-way

Scaling Dam-https://members.scalingdam.org/

Runswick Bay- https://www.yorkshire.com/places/yorkshire-coast/runswick-bay

The 10 best things to do in Whitby - www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attractions-g186345-Activities-Whitby_Scarborough_District_North_Yorkshire_England.html

From the museum of Victorian Science, Whitby Abbey to Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall there is something for everyone.


 

Trailways - www.trailways.info/

 

For cycle hire along the Whitby Coast.


 

North Yorkshire Moors Railway - www.nymr.co.uk

 

In October the Railway hosts its famous 1940s event where the whole town of Pickering goes back in time to the 1940's see www.nymr.co.uk/pages/category/wartime


 

Castle Howard - www.castlehoward.co.uk

 

Generations of the Howard family have welcomed visitors to Castle Howard, one of Britain's finest historic houses, for over 300 years.


 

Eden Camp - www.edencamp.co.uk/

 

Experience the sights, sounds and smells of life on the Home Front and the Front Line, all set in the buildings and grounds of an original World War 2 Prisoner of War Camp.


 

The World of James Herriot - www.worldofjamesherriot.com/

 

Set in the heart of stunning Herriot Country, World of James Herriot is a multi award-winning,all-weather attraction.

The UK Glow Worm Survey Home Page  - www.glowworms.org.uk

Guided walk in Pickering.

Woodhead Farm Cottage is a fantastic luxury holiday cottage, with an enclosed garden, with uninterrupted views of the beautiful Esk Valley. Set in part of the North York Moors National Park, the area is famous for its world class scenery.

© 2019 Woodhead Farm Cottage